Two officers of the Electoral Commission have been taken into police custody, for tampering with ballot papers in the Awutu Senya West and Bawku Central constituencies.

They were fished out for their wrongdoings after a complaint was lodged to the Electoral Commission.

Amid the fracas, quite a number of the ballot papers that were given to the registered voters had no number one but rather started from number two.

Number one on the ballot paper is Nana Addo Danquah Akufo Addo, on the ticket of the NPP, whereas number two is John Dramani Mahama, the flagbearer of the NDC.

A critical look at the issue at hand, clearly indicated that some members of one of the parties intentionally planned this to have some votes rejected.

After a thorough investigation was made, Mary Adasti Dahjs, who was stationed at a polling station in the Awutu Senya West constituency, and Ahmed Shafawu Alhaji who was at the Salam Grinding Mill polling station at Bawku Central, were held responsible for that act.

The EC Wrote:

“The Electoral Commission wishes to inform the General Public that the two officers who tampered with the Presidential ballot papers in Awutu Senya West and Bawku Central have been arrested and are currently in Police custody In the case of Bawku Central, only one of such ballots was used. However the case of Awutu Senya West, none of the ballots were used”.

The Electoral Commission  assured the general public that the :

“officers will be prosecuted and dealt with by law”.